WITCHERY Announces New Studio Album “Nightside” (with Special Guests CARCASS, MERCYFUL FATE), Official Video for “Popecrusher” Released


Swedish thrash metal band Witchcraft just announced their new album “Night Side” out on 22nd of July through Century Media Records

After the successes of 2017 “I am Legion” album, “Night Side” was recorded with the WITCHCRAFT line-up composed of jensen (Guitars, The haunted / ex Session), Rickard Rimfalt (Guitars, Session), Angus Norder (Voice, Nekrokraft), Victor Brandt (Bass, Dimmu Borgir / ex AD buried) – who now officially replaces the longtime bassist Sharlee D’Angelo – and Chris Barkensjo (Drums, lik / ex Kaamos). The album was again mixed and produced by Daniel Bergstrand (Freak, In fireetc.) and includes illustrations of Andreas “Diaz” Petterssonseen above.

“Nightside” Tracklist:

  1. witch hour
  2. Don’t burn the witch
  3. Storm of the Unborn
  4. Er steht in Flammen
  5. pope grinder
  6. Left hand walk
  7. under the altar
  8. church burner
  9. Crucifix and Candle
  10. A forest of burning coffins
  11. night side

The debut single and video for the razor-sharp track “Crusher of Popes” is out now. Watch the animated music video created by Edouard Hidalgo & Maciej Pieloch / MPieloch.com & E2h Design Studiobelow.

WITCHCRAFT brain jensen say about “Crusher of Popes”, “Setting the benchmark for the new album, ‘Popecrusher’ is the first sonic assault foreshadowing our new ‘Nightside’ album. All the pieces fell into place with this album and we can’t wait for everyone to hear the album in “Nightside” is our first attempt at writing a concept album, and “Popecrusher” is of course part of that story. We hope you enjoy the incinerating heaviness of “Popecrusher” as much as we do. big things are coming soon. Do the W!”

jensen adds, “I started writing this album without any general direction of idea in mind, but somewhere in the middle of the writing process I remembered that I had always wanted to do a concept album, so I decided I didn’t realize that writing a concept album puts a lot more pressure on each song to be great. That might seem like a norm (and I suppose it probably is). some way) but usually you write 12-14 songs and pick the songs that turned out to be the best after being mixed and mastered Sometimes even what you thought was the first song on the album gets pushed somewhere else because “another track was more like an opening track. Also, out of those 12-14 songs, you can choose to keep a few bonus tracks. With a theme album, the songs can’t change places. The story has to work (nobody wants to make a new “The Elder”!), do nc the opening track should really hold up as an opening track etc. hence the added pressure of “no surprises” after everything recorded. The album tells a story of demonic nightmares, inexplicable pregnancies, witch trails and an escape from the Old Country to the western colonies and what happens once the child is born. Guests on this album is, to begin with, our permanent guest of honor Hank Shermanbut also guest solos from Maciek Ofstad of Kvelertak and Simon Johansson of Wolf (also owner of the studio of SolnaStudio where we recorded the album. We also had the honor of having Jeff Walker of Carcass do guest vocals on the song “A Forest of Burning Coffins”. All in all, we’re very happy with how the album turned out and again excited to Daniel Bergstrand‘s production killer…”

“Night side” features brief guest vocal appearances by Jeff Walker (Carcasson “A forest of burning coffins”as well as guitars invited by Hank Sherman (merciful destinyon “Left Hand Walk”), Simon Johanson (Wolfon “Crucifix and Candle”) and Maciek Ofstad (Kvelertakon “Don’t Burn the Witch”).

“Night side” will be published in the following formats:

  • CD with case
  • vinyl LP (either black vinyl or transparent red vinyl limited to 500 copies via CM Distro / Mailorder)
  • digital scrapbook

Pre-orders for “Night Side” are available HERE.

WITCHCRAFT also announced that they will appear on this year’s Colossal Hellfest line-up in Clisson, France on Friday, June 24e2022. Discover more details, HERE.

Previously, WITCHCRAFTThe first catalog of was reissued by Century Media Records in 2020 on CD, LP and digitally, finally making “Restless and Dead” (1998), “Witch Burner” (PE, 1999), “Dead, Hot and Ready” (1999) and “Symphony for the Devil” (2001) again available worldwide. Reissues are available for purchase, HERE.

Look for…witchcraft “Night side” is heavy metal sorcery at its finest. The hour of witchcraft has arrived!

Source link


Comments are closed.