WITCHERY announces new studio album “Nightside”


Swedish pioneers of blackened thrash metal WITCHCRAFT will release their eighth studio album, “Night side”July 22 through Media Records of the Century. The sequel to 2017 “I am Legion” was recorded with the WITCHCRAFT range composed of patrick jensen (guitar, THE HAUNTED / ex-SESSION),Rickard Rimfalt (guitar, SESSION),Angus Norder (singing, NEKROKRAFT),Victor Brandt (low, DIMMU BORGIR / ex-ANNOUNCEMENT HIDDENofficially replacing the longtime bassist Sharlee D’Angelo) and Chris Barkensjo (drums, lik / ex-KAAMOS). The album was again mixed and produced by Daniel Bergstrand (FREAK, IN FIRE) and includes illustrations of Andreas “Diaz” Pettersson.

“Night side” features an appearance on vocals by Jeff Walker (CARCASSon “A Forest of Burning Coffins”), as well as guest guitar solos by Hank Sherman (MERCIFUL FATEon “Left Hand Walk”),Simon Johanson (WOLFon “Crucifix And Candle”) and Maciek Ofstad (KVELERTAKon “Don’t Burn the Witch”).

“Night side” will be released in the following formats: jewel case CD, 180 gram vinyl LP (either black vinyl or transparent red vinyl limited to 500 copies via CM distro/mailorder) and digital album.

“Night side” track list:

01. witch hour
02. Don’t burn the witch
03. Storm of the Unborn
04. Er Steht in Flammen
05. pope grinder
06. Left hand walk
07. under the altar
08. church burner
09. crucifix and candle
ten. A forest of burning coffins
11. night side

The debut single and video for the razor-sharp track “Crusher of Popes” is out now. Watch the animated music video created by Edouard Hidalgo and Maciej Pieloch of MPieloch.com and E2h creative studio below.

jensen say about “Crusher of Popes”: “Setting the benchmark for the new album, ‘Papecrusher’ is the first prefiguring sound assault of our new album ‘Night side’. All the pieces fell into place with this album and we can’t wait for everyone to hear the album in its entirety. ‘Night side’ is our first attempt at writing a concept album, and ‘Papecrusher’ is of course part of this story. We hope you like the incinerating heaviness of ‘Papecrusher’ as much as us. More great things are coming soon. Do the W!”

jensen adds: “I started writing this album without any general direction of idea in mind, but somewhere in the middle of the writing process, I remembered that I had always wanted to do a concept album, so I I decided to give it a shot. Little did I know that writing a concept album puts a lot more pressure on each song to be great. That might seem like a norm (and I guess it actually is). ‘some way), but usually you write 12-14 songs and choose the songs that turned out to be the best after being mixed and mastered. Sometimes even what you thought was the first song on the album is pushed elsewhere because another track turned out to be more like an opening track. those 12-14 songs, you can choose to keep some bonus tracks. With a theme album, the songs cannot change places The story has to work (no one wants to do a new “The Elder”!), so the the opening track really has to hold its own as an opening track etc. hence the added pressure of ‘no surprises’ after it’s all recorded.

“The album tells a story of demonic nightmares, inexplicable pregnancy, witch trails and an escape from the Old Country to the western colonies and what happens once the child is born. Guests on this album are, to begin with, our permanent guest of honor Hank Shermanbut also guest solos from Maciek Ofstad of KVELERTAK and Simon Johanson of WOLF (also owner of the studio of Solna Studio where we recorded the album. We also had the honor of having Jeff Walker of CARCASS do guest vocals on the song “A Forest of Burning Coffins”. All in all, we’re very happy with how the album turned out and again excited to Daniel Bergstrandis a killer production…”

WITCHCRAFT also announced that he will appear on this year’s Colossal Hellfest in Clisson, France on Friday, June 24.

WITCHCRAFTThe first catalog of was reissued by Media Records of the Century in 2020 on CD, LP and digitally, finally, making “Restless and Dead” (1998),“Witch Burner” (PE, 1999),“Dead, Hot and Ready” (1999) and “Symphony for the Devil” (2001) again available worldwide.

Source link


Comments are closed.